Ranger’s Apprentice- Series Review

Will Treaty started off as An Orphan of the Ward. At the age where you can pick your apprenticeship, Will gets picked by the most famous ranger in History. Halt. And thanks to that, Will surpassed his Mentor and became the most famous ranger in history, at a very young age too! What happens after that? You’ll have to read more to find out!


I am so sorry for missing my Saturday review. As such, this will be a bonus review as an apology to my followers. And that Saturday review will go up today as well! This will be listed under the Page of Monthly Reviews.

Series Title/Author:

Ranger’s Apprentice. John Flanagan. (I bought books 2-12 at Tattered Cover.)

Times Read:

1        (As of today 8-23-16, I have read books 1-4, and half of 5. But I am in the process of buying the other 7 books as we speak!!)  Update: I have all 12 books. I have just started book 9. And i have an idea as to how the books should be read.


Fantasy, Fiction, Suspense, Pager Turner, Medieval-ish. <- Yeah, some aren’t really Genres. Deal wit it.


10/10 (Is it possible to give more than a 10/10? Cause I’m fairly certain 20/20, 100/100, and 5/5 are the same as 10/10)

Age Range:

-Author(s) Suggest: 10+

-My Opinion: I’ll say 12+. This is one book series that you need to read before you die. Or stop reading. Whichever comes first.

Basic Review:

Dear LORD… I have only finished the first 4 books (which Detail Will’s first years as the Apprentice) and half of book five (which takes place 5 years after the end of book 4. I am NOT SPOILING!!) This is among one of the best series I have ever read. And I will read it to DEATH!!!

Long Review:

How do I make you understand how amazing this series is? Maybe I can’t, but I have to try. John Flanagan, whom I have never met, wrote an amazing series. As a Kid I loved to go into the kid’s section of Barnes and Noble & Tattered Cover. I can distinctly remember see the books Ranger’s Apprentice, and never picked one up. Now that I am legally an Adult (which has nothing to do with anything by the way :-P) I can read like non other. AND the entire series is out. I hate waiting for books to come out. Specially since I tend to finish them really fast. (A book every day or two.)

What should we talk about now? Well, since this is an Apology Review, I might as well talk about the Main Characters. This may or may not happen in the monthly series review, which will go up on 8-27-16.

Will Treaty: For the first 4 books, Will has no Last name. He is made fun of by Horace, Bully turned best Friend, and others at the keep. I say keep, but it is more like a castle for the Baron of the Fief. I can only assume that Fief stands for Hold. Like in Skyrim. I may be wrong, but whateva. The only one who doesn’t really make fun of him is his first friend named Alyss. Later in the book series (I haven’t gotten this far. Just started book 6), Will and Alyss get married. This probably happens around the 9th or 10th book, but I don’t really know. (Up above I stated that I just started book 6. Clearly I have been writing this review for a few days, cause today is 8-26-16. On the 23rd I said I was halfway through book 5. School has kept me very busy, so I haven’t had the time I’ve wanted to read.)

Halt: Halt is Will’s mentor, and surrogate Father. As I stated, Will grew up with no last name. This is because he did not know his Mother or Father. It is later revealed that Halt knew his father (Will’s dad died protecting Halt), and was there when his mother died. Halt took it upon himself to find Will a home (Will’s mom asked him to right before she died.) Over the years that Will grew up, Halt kept a watchful eye over Will. Though he never spoke to him, he was there. In book 3 Halt becomes very erratic. He sees Will as his Son, and is devastated that he is “Missing”. (No, I will not Spoil it. Stop asking!!). In book 5 Halt sends Will on his first Mission, and is worried sick that his Apprentice/Son is in enemy lands.

List of Other Characters: There are so many characters that are important in this series. But the two main Characters that are extremely important are Will and Halt. Here are the others: Horace, Alyss, Evanlyn(Cassandra), King Duncan, Erak, Crowley, George, Tug(Will’s horse), Dog(Will hasn’t named her yet and I’m ready for it.), and many many others.

Books in Order:

  4. OAKLEAF BEARERS aka: The Battle for Skandia

Now Book 7 is a special one. John Flanagan stated that this book covers Will’s transformation into the Ranger we know as Will Treaty. In my eye the books should be read in this order. And trust me, it makes so much more sense this way.

1, 2, 3, 4, 7, 5, 6, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12

Why did I choose this book(s)?

It was just a recommended book on my Amazon account. So I clicked on it and ordered it. That was 3 or 4 months ago. I ran out of reading material and decided I would read it. Half of the first chapter was dry, and then it caught my attention. And it has held me since. More than once I have burst out laughing at some of the things said or done. And that is really rare with a Book.

Would Recommend?

10/10 Will recommend to anyone that I can. And I Have. Please read it. It’ll make me really happy. 🙂  And check back every once and a while. I tend to update these!

Thanks for readin!


Author: jnutter3006

I'm a full-time student, full-time artist, and i guess I'm a blogger too. I love reading, and have dedicated 19 years to it. (i am 19yo btw). I also enjoy playing video games, collecting pokemon & yugioh cards, studying rocks, enjoying music, and various forms of art.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s