The Alchemyst: The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel-Review

Nicholas Flamel was the Keeper of the Sorcerer’s Stone. But how did he get to be Immortal? And is it something anyone can Achieve? Nicholas Flamel and his wife take two young teens on an adventure they’ll never ever forget. “For there is Magic in us All.”

Hi there Y’all! I promised to a special review for making it so far into my 2.5 k word review on Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. Well, here it is!

61podklibil-_sx327_bo1204203200_

Title/Author:

The Alchemyst: The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel. Michael Scott.

Times Read:

-2

Genre:

-Fiction, Science Fiction, Fantasy, Magic, Suspense, and a nail-biting Page Turner.

Rating:

-10/10 will recommend to all Harry Potter fans.

Age Range:

-Author(s) Suggest: 10+

-My Opinion:Ā Around the age of 12 is a good start. I recommendĀ reading the first books of Harry Potter. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone. Nicholas Flamel makes an appearanceĀ in said book, and you get some background about him. Rather than just jumping into this series and expecting everything to be all hunky-dory.

 

Basic Review:

-Nicholas Flamel was the Keeper of the Sorcerer’s Stone. But how did he get to be Immortal? And is it something anyone can Achieve? Nicholas Flamel and his wife take two young teens on an adventure they’ll never ever forget. “For there is Magic in us All.” <- I don’t really know if anyone has ever said that. But I just did…. Ā Anyways, read on to find out more. Ā Oh, and this is another conversation (I keep telling Y’all that’s how I write.) so be prepared.

Long Review:

-Who is Nicholas Flamel? Well, he is immortal and was the keeper of the Sorcerer’s Stone that Harry Potter now owns. But do you know anything else? Come on, Tell me……. Do it or I won’t continue the review.Ā “Well, he is married to Joan of Ark.” Now how did you know that?! Oh, you read ahead. Well, you can just sit there with your mouth shut and let the others guess.Ā “He made that AppearanceĀ in Harry Potter!” I just said that… Someone say something else. Please…Ā “Wasn’t he the Alchemyst who claimed that you could turn Lead and other metals into Gold?”Ā Finally, someone who says something that is almost correct! And I like that you used to the book’s spelling of Alchemist instead of being correct.

Yes. Alchemists’ throughout history have believed that you could turn metal into gold. The most common were Lead to Gold. If you ever played Skyrim, there was a spell that could turn Iron to Silver. Then Silver to Gold. But this isn’t a Gaming Blog, so I’ll stop there. Scientifically speaking it is possible to turn Lead into Gold, but to do it you need to have Nuclear Radiation. Which is dangerous (duh! Like the Hulk but worse.). What is easier to do is to turn Gold into Lead, but who wants a chunk of Lead hanging from their neck? Not me.

Let me get back to your question. Technically speaking, Yes. Nick (as he is known is the books), has been an Alchemyst for many years. And I don’t mean just 10 or 20 years. I mean hundreds of years. Nick was born in 1330, while his wifeĀ Perenelle Flamel was born in 1320. Remember how I said that Joan of Arc was his wife, well, as you recall, I never said that. I just said that that person read on. Clearly, he didn’t read far enough, though. They married in 1368 and lived together until 1397 when they both “died”.

According to the world, they were dead. But since they achieved immortality, they were, well, Immortal. By the time the events of Harry Potter roll around both are around 600-650 years old. His books have us advance another 15 years to the time of 2006. Ā Josh and Sophie Newman are twins. But they have a very interesting story to tell. One: They have the two rarest Auras known. Two: Josh is really the older of the Siblings, even though Sophie was born 28 seconds before.

Josh was born around 30,000 years ago. But he didn’t know. Sophie was born around 1,000 years ago. Again, she didn’t know about that. Sophie has a Pure Silver Aura. Which is the second rarest Aura. Josh has a Pure Gold Aura. Which just so happens to be the rarest. As such, these “twins” are the two most powerful teens in the universe. Everything surrounding them is False. Their mother and Father are really Immortals. Their Aunt is an Immortal. John Dee is Evil. And Josh will no longer be Josh. (IĀ haven’t gotten that far yet.)

Let’s get back to the Auras. Every Aura has a scent to it. Sophie’s scent is Vanilla. Josh’s is an Orange-Spice. If I’m not mistaken, John Dee’s is like rotten eggs. (UGH!). It is how the Elders determine who to attack and eat. Which is gross. But hey, I ain’t no Elder.

With our frail human minds, we see Immortality to be aĀ Nirvana. That may be true, but how are we to know? There was this book called Tuck Everlasting. I was never a huge fan of it (we had to read it for my Literature class), but there was one thing that Tuck said that has always stuck out to me. And I haven’t read that book in a long time. It was that life was a river. And instead of being the leaves that continuously flow by, you are a rock that sits there. Forever. Never changing, never being able to move on. Rather than a blessing, it is a curse.

In this series Nick and his wife are ready to Die. They have lived a long life and are ready for some closure. Which is something that Both Josh and Sophie can help with. But first, they must unlock their inner powers. And even though the bloodlust (Josh) and the horrible headaches (Sophie) get impossible to control at times, they are the best chance that humanity has for survival.Ā “WHAT!?” Oh… I forgot to mention that, didn’t I?

There is something called the Codex. It tells of the day and age when the Dark elders plan to destroy the mortal world. And only two twins of pure Silver and Gold can put a stop to it forever. Or to finish off the world. Depending on who gets into their heads first. Which is why Nick and his wife try to Unlock the good inside of both of them. And John Dee unlocks the Evil inside of Josh. (That was the last I got to. I need to get the last two books to learn what happened.)

WouldĀ Recommend?

-Yup. Especially if you are a fan of Harry Potter. And if you are not, then read it anyway. Trust me, You’ll like the series!

This was supposed to be a normal review, but it kinda turned into a series review as well. Ā  Ā I’ll put it as both.

Thanks for readin!

-Jack

Author: jnutter3006

I'm a full-time student, full-time artist, and i guess I'm a blogger too. I love reading, and have dedicated 19 years to it. (i am 19yo btw). I also enjoy playing video games, collecting pokemon & yugioh cards, studying rocks, enjoying music, and various forms of art.

Leave a Reply

