The Novice-Review

Fletcher has no memory of his parents. All he knows is the Blacksmith’s trade. And his bow n arrow. But when he suddenly summons a Demon, his life changes. And until he learns to master it, its a really bad thing.

First off, welcome back. And sorry for both this review and last week’s review coming up late. Been sick n just now starting to not feel lethargic. (Date of Writing 10-16-16). I was wrong. Got Swamped yet again. So please enjoy my interesting comments. Tomorrow’s review may come up late as well. But, I’ll try my best to make sure this doesn’t happen. (Date of Writing 10-21-16). (DoW 10-23-16) Yup, the review is coming up a day or so late.  Sorry.

I love this series as well, so enjoy!

9781250067128_fc

Title/Author:

The Novice. Taran Matharu.

Times Read:

-1. I may re-read this book again very soon. I’ve been trying to wait until book 3 comes out. Unfortunately, I have to wait until May 9th, 2017. I’ve been in contact with this author as well. I’m hoping I can get him to give me a signed copy, but We’ll have to see. (I haven’t specifically asked him…). Anyways, Here is the link to that book. It’s in the pre-order stage right now.   I read this one in about 4 days. I read the second one in under 24 hours. I expect that I’ll read the third under 24 hours as well, or faster.  Not the fastest book I’ve read. I read Fahrenheit 451 in 2 hours. Not that I chose to read it. School readings really SUCK at times. (I’ll probably write a review on Fahrenheit 451 soon. As a bonus review or something.)

Genre:

-Action, Fantasy, Conflict, Science Fiction (It’s really not Science, but it’s listed in that section. Anyways….), Magic, Suspense, Page Turner. Amazing book, and book series!

Rating:

-10/10. You have to read this book. It’s like The Inheritance Cycle and Ranger’s Apprentice Mixed together, but it’s almost better. I won’t say it is better, but it is right there.

Age Range:

-Author(s) Suggest: 12-17

-My Opinion: 14 years and older can read this book/series. Once again, I HATE the phrase “Age Range”. So instead I give a base age, and then you can go on from there.

Basic Review:

-Fletcher has no memory of his parents. He was told that he was dropped off at the front gates of this village. No Name, No Nothin. The Blacksmith takes him in as his own son. And he learns the skills of a blacksmith, which is where he gets his name. So, as a nobody loser that gets bullied, All he knows is the Blacksmith’s trade. And his bow n’ arrow. But when he suddenly summons a Demon, his life changes. And until he learns to master it, its a really bad thing. Which means persecution. Especially since his number 1 bully blames him for committing a crime he didn’t do.

Long Review:

-Trouble LOVEZ Fletcher. (Yes, I spelled loves wrong. Cause I can.) He has never been able to stay away from it. No matter how hard he tries. Be it getting locked outside the village gates Every sing night, or even his bow breaking in half. Or getting put on trial for a crime he didn’t commit and sentenced to die by manticore poison……… I just spoiled a part of book 2, didn’t I? Well, until I opened my big mouth saying that I did, I didn’t. Lol, I Funny.

Anyways. The book starts with Fletcher out in the woods staring down his sights. Well, as close to sights as you can get on a bow. He is an amazing hunter and nails his prey. But when he goes back to the village, the gates are closed. Early. That is because almost everyone in the village hates Fletcher. Especially the Guards. After he argues with them he finally finds his way into the Village. And we learn how much everyone really does hate him.

The next day there is a traveling salesman who is being harassed by Fletcher’s number 1 bully and his cronies. So Fletcher intervenes. Later that night they are at the local tavern. And the bullies come around again. This time a fight breaks out, and Fletcher goes on the defensive. In the end of this scene, (cause I will not spoil the book) Fletcher wake up the next day and finds a gift left to him by the salesman.

We later find out that this is an incantation spell. What I mean by that is that it gives Fletcher his first ever demon. Normally the first demon given to you is a small bug. r you can be given a higher demon by one of your elders. Fletcher just summoned the demon. A Salamander, which is incredibly rare. Remember that incantation I just spoke of? Well, it was written on HUMAN SKIN, by an Orc that lived a couple hundred (i think it’s close to a thousand) years ago. Known as the White Orc. I can’t help but picture the White Orc from the Hobbit. And the description really doesn’t help me come away from that picture. Anywhosers, Fletcher summons this rare demon and this starts the real pursuit.

I’ll skip ahead a few days after all of this amazing action happens that I don’t want to spoil. Fletcher finds himself in a town where he is pursued. There is this guy staring at him in the Bar, and fletcher gets out of there as soon as he can. Turns out this guy helps him get into the school that trains demon users. Long story short, he becomes an ally for Fletcher.

When Fletcher gets into the school he makes friends with a Dwarf and tries to become friends with a female Elf (They become really close later in the book. Especially in the second book. Fletcher and the Elf. Not the Dwarf. They are just really close battle buddies/friends.) who snubs him.

We will skip ahead in the book when it is time for the games. Fletcher has this dream about how to summon spells. In said dream, Fletcher is watching through the eyes of his demon. And he sees the orc has finger tattoos. So Fletcher has one of his Dwarf’s family (cause he is accepted as a good family friend now.) member tattoo certain incantations on his fingers. And this is how he wins the Games.

And then he is publicly arrested and that is where book 2 starts off. And this is backlash from the crime that he didn’t actually commit. All the while his bullies AT this school are sneering at him and are glad to see him die. (Cause his trial really is a death sentence. He has 0% hope of survival.)

Well, I’m done here. I think I left a big enough hook for you to come back without spoiling the book. If I did, then be sure to read it and then get book 2. Which I’ll be writing very soon! Be sure to come back for that review!!

Would Recommend?

-YES!!!!!! I really wonder why I even leave this section in. I say what I feel when I give said reviews a rating. Guess I just re-enforce that you need to read/don’t read.

Thanks for readin!

-Jack

Author: jnutter3006

I'm a full-time student, full-time artist, and i guess I'm a blogger too. I love reading, and have dedicated 19 years to it. (i am 19yo btw). I also enjoy playing video games, collecting pokemon & yugioh cards, studying rocks, enjoying music, and various forms of art.

Leave a Reply

