The Inquistition-Review

After spending a year in his Village Prison, Fletcher is to go to trial. And everything is against him. But when he survives the Manticore’s poison, It is revealed who he really is. Join Fletcher as he forges new friendships, and watches others Vanish.

Sorry, Sorry, Sorry. I am still playing catch up with my reviews.

Also! I recently got the Opportunity to post my posts on the website Niume. Now, their website is a pain as I have to follow specific guidelines, and they tend to mess up my posts. However, it is an honor nonetheless. As of today, (DoW 10-23-16), I have 8 followers on my Blog. On Niume, I have 27. I’m trying to get my followers on there to head on over here. We’ll see how it turns out, though!

Also, before reading this review, make sure you go and check out the first book’s review Here!

summoner2_jkt_lo

Title/Author:

The Inquisition. Taran Matharu.

Times Read:

-1. Such an AMAZING book, however.

Genre:

-Fiction, Science Fiction, Suspense, Turmoil, Conflict, Fantasy, Action, Pager Turner, and Nail Biting Page Turner.    If you check the Tags I included Invasion. Traditionally “Invasion” is about aliens coming and, well, invading. However, in books like Lord of the Rings, an invasion is what the Orcs did. Which is what they are doing in this book. And Fletcher goes to the front lines in the 3rd book. Which I can’t wait to get!!  Anyways, back to the reviews.

Rating:

-10/10 Will recommend to everyone that I know.

Age Range:

-Author(s) Suggest: 12-17

-My Opinion: 13 years and older can read this book/series. Once again, I HATE the phrase “Age Range”. So instead I give a base age, and then you can go on from there. (I think I may leave this note in every review, let me know what you think.)

Basic Review:

-When we last left Fletcher he was to start his prison sentence. After spending a year in his Village Prison, Fletcher is to go to trial. He is Malnourished, near crazy, and everything is against him. But when he survives the Manticore’s poison, It is revealed who he really is.  Join Fletcher as he forges new friendships, and watches others Vanish.

Long Review:

-During his trial, it is hinted who his parents might be. Nobels. And very important ones at that. One of his professors tell a story of his friends (the nobles. I’m sorry, I’m writing this without internet, so I can’t get their names. Besides, why would I spoil that?) and how the demon bird (Athena) was seen flying away from their home with a buck naked baby in her claws.

Traditionally, when a summoner dies his or her demon fades away to that place where all demons live, and become wild once again. Or lost. Depending on how compassionate you are. As such, Athena started to fade away while making sure her master’s baby makes it away safe. Athena’s master is Fletcher’s mom. Notice how I said is? Well, it is revealed much later on that she didn’t die. And I may or may not tell you how. (Do you hate me yet? Cause I don’t spoil the books for you?) “Yes. But not because you won’t tell me, it’s cause you keep teasing me!” Well, don’t get so mad. It’s how I roll. You’ll just have to deal with it. 🙂

Now where was I? Oh yeah, Athena fading away. Well, so yeah. She drops the baby off at the farthest village she could make it to. Anyways, (back to the present day) Fletcher learns that his father (who isn’t his real father) was severely beaten just because they could beat him. And his best friend (the dwarf) was taken into custody as well and beaten.

A break came up during the trial and Fletcher is greeted by the one who got him into the school in the first place. (If you didn’t read the first review, you have no idea what I am talking about.) He said that he had a way to save Fletcher’s best friend, but not Fletcher himself. And because Fletcher loves his friends, he agreed to it.

When Fletcher goes back up to his trial, he tells his best friend that (that guy’s name who got him into the school,) has a plan to save them. And the dwarf agrees. So Fletcher “admits” that he was the sole perpetrator. That he alone should be punished and killed. His best friend looked up at him in horror as he realized what was happening. When he tried to intervene, Fletcher told him this was the plan from the beginning. And now it is time for Fletcher to die.

It was decided that Fletcher would die by manticore poison. That noble family was the only known people that could survive a full dose of the poison. Everyone else would die within a few minutes from just a small drop of the poison.   Let me put this in perspective. Take ACID. The stuff from those cartoons we all used to watch. Imagine a small drop coming out from a dropper. That went down your throat and you are screaming in pain. And then you probably drop dead. That noble family, on the other hand, can drink a Liter of said ACID and live to tell the tale.   That’s really the best description I can give you.

This was both a death sentence and a secondary trial for Fletcher. It is basically illegal to put a noble on trial. So if Fletcher survives, then it means that the charges must be dropped immediately. If he doesn’t survive, then he is dead and no one has to worry about him anymore. And Fletcher’s enemies are betting that once Fletcher dies, his best friend (the dwarf) and his girlfriend (the elf) will go on a rampage. That way they can declare War without any reason.  It’s actually a great plan, but it fails.

Fletcher gets struck by the Manticore (a demon) and he feels a burning sensation. And then nothing but black. When he awakes he sees his girlfriend’s face above him. She tells him that he barely survived the poison, and the only reason he is alive is because of the elve’s healing magic. He is crestfallen because it means that he is not a noble. So when he eventually stands up all he sees is sky. It is because he is in a Giant tree. And he soon learns something important.

He learns that he really is the Son of that noble family. He was writhing on the floor for over an hour. Anyone else should’ve died within 2 minutes. The judge of the trial had to admit that he was a Nobel, and all charges were dropped. As such, Fletcher gains many more enemies. But he got to see his girlfriend again!

Let us skip ahead just a bit. Fletcher and his friends are on a mission to infiltrate the Orc’s main base. Their secondary mission is to rescue the mother of one of their classmates. While infiltrating they run into some trouble. And it is revealed that there is a traitor amongst them who is trying to kill them. At every single turn too!!

It is soon revealed who the Traitor is. It is right around the time that Fletcher and his team find his classmate’s mom. After the traitor is killed (you have to read to find out how.) the structure around them starts to collapse. Fletcher orders everyone to go into the portal that will take them to the demon plane. He then calls Athena to go and grab his late classmate’s mom. She reacts to that name. And she yells this:

“Athena…. My Baby!!! Where’s my Baby?!?!” Fletcher learns right there that that is his mom. It has been 16 ish years since they ever saw each other. He tells his mom to go into the portal, and that he was right behind her.

So that is the book! I tried to gloss over some of the more important parts. That way you have to really go and read the book. But I realize I forgot to mention that Fletcher was given Athena. And that Athena and his salamander have an interesting relationship. Both trying to be his number one. And cause of that they kept quarreling. His salamander would be around his neck, While Athena (who is much like an eagle) is perched on his shoulder.

Oh! I forgot to mention this during the last review. When you gain a demon, it’s consciousness joins yours. Because of that, your magic power increases. When any harm comes to your demon, you feel the pain. Or pleasure.  In the first book, Fletcher was rubbing his girlfriends’ demon (they weren’t together at that point. Just friends.) under the chin. Like you would a dog. His girlfriend calls his name with a  big of a stutter. When he looks up he notices that the Elf is flushed. The pleasure that The demon was feeling was transmitted over to her master. She also feels the pain that her demon suffers later in the second book. I won’t say how or by what, but it is heartbreaking.

Would Recommend?

-Duh.   Sorry, that was mean.  Yes, I do recommend this book. Who knows, maybe you’ll end up loving it more than me.

Hope y’all will come back for the series review! (going up this weeks as well.)

Thanks for readin!

-Jack

Author: jnutter3006

I'm a full-time student, full-time artist, and i guess I'm a blogger too. I love reading, and have dedicated 19 years to it. (i am 19yo btw). I also enjoy playing video games, collecting pokemon & yugioh cards, studying rocks, enjoying music, and various forms of art.

Leave a Reply

