Percy Jackson and the Olympians-Series Review

Some say the gods were just a legend. Others say that they were the manifestation of our misunderstandings of the world.Then there are the few that serve these once mighty beings. Their names will live on forever. Hercules, Percyus, Midas, Minotaur, Hydra. Did the gods really disappear, or are they still among us? Join Percy Jackson and his friends as they discover who and what they really are.

Please note that everything you read below is just my personal opinion. I do not know everything. Nor would I want to. I will not respond to negative comments. 

Series Title/Author:

Percy Jackson and the Olympians.  Rick Riordan

Times Read:

-3 total times. For the whole series. Individually is a different story. It really depends on what my reading taste is that day/week. My reading tastes change constantly. Though I have done my best to stay away from the grim books as of late. Almost 2.5 years now since I’ve read the books about war and espionage. Like the Shadow Recruit series. Or James Patterson’s House series… Alright, I’ll move on.

Genre:

-Adventure, Action, Fantasy, Fiction, Science Fiction, Page Turner.

Rating:

-10/10

Age Range:

-Author(s) Suggest: 9+

-My Opinion: 10+. I think 10 and older. As the books progress, there are themes (like kissing, Love, Death, and Hate) that kids younger than 10 won’t understand.

Basic Review:

  • Just go to the long review. This is coming up really really late, so I’m not wasting any time. Sorry.

Long Review:

-Some say the gods were just a legend. Others say that they were the manifestation of our misunderstandings of the world.Then there are the few that serve these once mighty beings. Their names will live on forever. Hercules, Percyus, Midas, Minotaur, Hydra. Did the gods really disappear, or are they still among us? Join Percy Jackson and his friends as they discover who and what they really are.

Percy is your average ordinary school kid. Except that he has Dyslexia, ADHD, aaand he happens to get picked on by his teachers. His best friend is a cripple, and his mom is married to a complete jerk.

When his class was at a museum one day, he was called aside to speak to one of his teachers. He didn’t do anything wrong. Or so he thought… he was attacked by his “teacher”. And was called a name he didn’t understand. “Lightning Thief.” I have no doubt he was wondering to himself “Lightning Thief?! How the heck does anyone steal lightning?? I not a scientist crazy lady…”. Well even if he didn’t think that, I would.

This is the point when the Book and Movie divert from each other. In the book, Percy fights his pyscho teacher alone. In the movie, his favorite teacher and crippled best friend show up to help protect him. Whichever way you prefer, it was awesome!

Let us go down the road a bit. (A literal road. :-P). Percy and his best bud (also his mom) are headed towards a camp for his kind. That is when a monster attacked. And things just went downhill from that point forward.

Let us skip ahead a bit. After Percy has his fight, he wakes up in something like a nurse’s office. There is a pretty girl staring at him. Then she says something completely random: “You drool in your sleep.” Now I can’t be the only one who would stare at her, completely confused and shocked, Right?

Percy, and his once crippled friend, start their journey together as fighters! The END!!

Oh, you’re still here? Is it because I skipped over something important? Oh yeah… This is a 5 book series, so there is more to talk about than just book one… How about this->

Percy Jackson never knew his dad. Until the day he hears something in his head. His dad’s voice. How is that possible? I guess nothing is impossible for a god.

Am I making sense any more? Yeah, I didn’t think so. Sorry, have a lot on my mind. However, that doesn’t mean you can’t enjoy this series!!

Why did I choose this book(s)?

-I was bored in the library one day. And it was just there. (I did tell you I read every book in my Elementary school library, right?) I picked up book one, and read through it like my life depended on it. Every since reading that, I wanted to be a Poseidon  Demi-God. Mostly cause I love the water so much. And since I’m allergic to fish (rashes, vomiting, hives…) we would really get along! Besides, who wouldn’t want to be able to breathe under water and see the ocean?!

Would Recommend?

-yup. And the series after it!

Thanks for readin!

-Jack

Author: jnutter3006

I'm a full-time student, full-time artist, and i guess I'm a blogger too. I love reading, and have dedicated 19 years to it. (i am 19yo btw). I also enjoy playing video games, collecting pokemon & yugioh cards, studying rocks, enjoying music, and various forms of art.

Leave a Reply

