The Way of Shadows-Review (For Adults)

In a city where nothing is right, how do you live? Will you be the Orphan, the humble commoner, the boy taken advantage of, or the whore next door? Or maybe you will become the ultimate thief. Like the fabled Durzo Blint. Join the Orphan, humbly named Azoth, as he is taken in by the fabled assassin.

Please note that everything you read below is just my personal opinion. I do not know everything. Nor would I want to. I will not respond to negative comments.

(DOW 1-19-17) I realize now that I was really rude in this review. So, before you read this, let me apologize to the author. Brent Weeks: I am sorry that I wasn’t a fan of your book. It was not what I was expecting. Quite truthfully, I was shocked and surprised. I am just trying to warn others to be ready for this kind of Book. Especially those that are around my age. I hope you will Accept my apology. I will update my rating for the adults. 

way-of-shadows

DO NOT CONTINUE IF YOU’RE ARE UNDER THE AGE OF 18! 

Title/Author:

The Way of Shadows. Brent Weeks.

Times Read:

-1, and will not read again. Just wasn’t a book for me.

Genre:

-Adult. (there are more things to add here, but I want to make sure everyone knows that this is not a book that is for those younger than 20.) Action, Suspense, Conflict, Rated M Themes, Nail Biter.

Rating:

-3/10 |||| (DOW 1-19-17) If you are an adult, I will rate this at a 5/10. Some adults may like this better.

Age Range:

-Author(s) Suggest: 18+

-My Opinion: 20+. Or Older. I truly truly truly Wish I Hadn’t read it. But, I believe it is now my duty to write a review on it. Especially for the young adults that are just getting to adulthood. This book is not what you have read before. But who knows, You may actually like it.

Basic Review:

-In a city where nothing is right, how do you live? Will you be the Orphan, the humble commoner, the boy took advantage of, or the whore next door? Or maybe you will become the ultimate thief. Like the fabled Durzo Blint. Join the Orphan, humbly named Azoth, as he is taken in by the fabled assassin. And he kills his Arch-Rival.

Long Review:

-This one all depends on your choice of books. And really, how much you don’t care what’s in it. This book is full of cursing. And not the fun stuff. I mean real deal curses, that really don’t ever need to be repeated. You know the F-word (no, it’s not father. 😛 [the parent trap joke]), well add another 20 characters on to it. That is basically what we are talking about. Oh! And lots of murder and Mature material. I honestly was shocked at how much was in there. I was gonna get the other two books but decided against it. And I rarely decide against getting books. Trust me.                    I think I just like the teen books more. This was way too adult for me.

So where do we start? Well, how about the background? Yeah? Well, I’m gonna do it even of you don’t think that’s where we should start. 🙂

The city is Plagued with greed. You are either one who sits on top, or who sits on the bottom. There are no other options. Even the master assassin, Durzo Blint, doesn’t get a choice. Though he would beg to differ. For him, everything is personal. He doesn’t care if you are a lowly sewer rat or a rich king. If you offended him, you are next on his list. This is who Azoth wishes to become. No matter what.

Like that? Well, it is really just a small part of the book. all of these next themes are x10 in this book. Rape, Incest, Murder, Thievery, And other mature themes. Oh, and the swearing is x100. Every other word is a curse. this is NOT a book for children. Nor for those who just became of age. I do NOT recommend this book. its rating is a 3/10. If you want to read it, go ahead. However, I hated it. But again, this is just my opinion.

Does anyone remember the Black Plague? YOU DO?!?! Dang, you must be really old then! How did you manage to live through it?! :-P. But in all seriousness, does anyone remember it from their history books? It was a dark time in Europe’s history. Death was everywhere. there were no honest professions. You would swindle money out of those less fortunate than you. And then someone would steal that from you. Maybe even put a knife to your throat. When I read this book, that is the city I imagined. I figure that it is not 100% accurate, but the Author has a way with words. The way he wrote is astounding, I just didn’t like the book.

*For those who played video games instead of learning their history*. Another way to put it is for the gamers. There is a video-game called Dishonored. Now this game has magic and such, but the city is what I am talking about. Everyone is out to get you. Not that it really matters. You can kill them. Since you have become an Assassin. (Apparently, the Night Angel Trilogy has Magic later on. That’s why I thought this reference would be good.)     If you want to get a feel for this book (if you even decide to read it) then play this game. Should get you to see what I see.

^^ Yeah yeah yeah. I know. My imagination is very different. That is because I’m in my head a lot more than those around me. Maybe that is why I didn’t like the book… I’m not sure.

I don’t really think I can say much more. 1: my brain has stopped working. 2: I think I’ve reached the end of this review.

Would Recommend?

-NO!  I’m sorry, but this was a horrible read. However, If you are an adult and like this kind of stuff, then this may be the book for you. I am an “adult” and would rather read things for young adults, teens, and children. Like Lord of the Rings, Harry Potter, Ranger’s Apprentice, Barsoom, Magic Tree House, Twilight, Dr. Seuss. This is just my honest opinion.

Thanks for readin!

-Jack

Author: jnutter3006

I'm a full-time student, full-time artist, and i guess I'm a blogger too. I love reading, and have dedicated 19 years to it. (i am 19yo btw). I also enjoy playing video games, collecting pokemon & yugioh cards, studying rocks, enjoying music, and various forms of art.

Leave a Reply

