The Hunger Games-Review/Series Review

What happens at the end of the World? Nothing. And that is where we were headed at the end of WW3. With nothing left, some revolutionary humans came up with an idea. To rebuild the world. Now, many years later, a young girl by the name of Katniss is hunting. Little does she know that the Hunter will soon become the Prey. Who can she trust? Who will betray her? And can she afford to lose it?

Please, note that everything you read below is just my personal opinion. I do not know everything. Nor would I want to. Please also keep in mind, I do not Promote, Support, or Respond to Negative Commentary.

The following character is used to separate book from series. It will be in a bright green color. 

9780439023528_p0_v1_s392x600

Title/Author:

The Hunger Games | The Hunger Games Series.   Suzanne Collins.

Times Read:

-2. For both.  Oh, HERE is a funny picture I found while Looking for a banner for this review. I posted it on my facebook for easy access!

Genre:

-Utopia. Dystopia. Adventure. Action. Suspense. Page Turner. Turmoil. Young Adult. Young Adult Fiction. Fiction Science Fiction.

Rating:

-9/10 | 8/10

Age Range:

-Author(s) Suggest: 11-13 | 9-15

-My Opinion: No. Hell no. 14+ for BOTH. Answer me this, Would you really want to have your 9-year-old child read a book that says it’s ok to kill those around you for food?! I sure wouldn’t. Heck, everyone else may be ok with that, But I think it’s wrong. But what do I know? I’ve just been reading for 19 years.                   乁( ⁰͡  Ĺ̯ ⁰͡ ) ㄏ

Basic Review:

-What happens at the end of the World? Nothing. And that is where we were headed at the end of WW3. However, a miracle happened. With nothing left, some revolutionary humans came up with an idea. To rebuild the world. And to build their new Utopia on the remains of the battleground. Their capital is in the once beautiful Rocky Mountains. How will they live their new lives? By indulging in their own perfections, and by enjoying games. Now, many years later, a young girl by the name of Katniss is hunting a deer in the forest. She is the best hunter that there has been in her district. Little does she know that the Hunter will soon become the Hunted. Who can she trust? Will it be the boy that threw bread at her? Who will betray her? Her mentor? And can she afford to lose it? Or will it be the end of everything if she does?

Long Review:

-In my freshman year of high school, a teacher saw me sitting on the stairway steps just waiting for class to start. This was just a month into my freshman year. To be honest, I have almost always been that way. Even now in College. I don’t run off to my locker to hang. I go from class to class and just wait. She was an English teach. Now, I never did have her as a teacher. But, she gave me something more meaningful that another English class. It was her Hunger Games series. I read through those books in just under 2 weeks. This was before the movies came out by the way. Granted, it wasn’t that long of a wait. August ’11 is when I both started and finished these books. The first movie came out in march of ’12. When I got to the third book I was craving what was going to happen. However, I had no idea what was coming. The first time I read it I wasn’t fazed. In my Junior year, i re-read the entire series. I didn’t even want to finish the third book. I did, but I didn’t want to.

The hunger games. Really is the best name ever given to a game. What does it mean? It means that you fight for your district. You make friendships and then betray those friends. All in order to get food for a year for your district. And how do you betray them? By murdering them in cold blood.

So what happened? Well, it is after the events of the third World War. The only Continent that still had useable ground was North America. So the new civilization was set up here. What do I mean by useable ground? Let me put it into the perspective that I saw. Does anyone here remember the story of Chernobyl? A nuclear power plant exploded there. The ground is so radioactive that it will not be useable for the next 10,000 years. Want me to put that number in perspective for you? Humans have only been on this earth for 30,000 years. We truly Screwed up on that one! Sorry, Review…

Now these districts. I imagine them to be a lot like the concentration camps that Hitler used. Quick fact! I am 50% German. I tend to use the word “Da” a lot. I thought that it mean Yes. I learned just a few minutes ago that it actually means There. the word “Ja” actually means Yes. However, you say them the same way. (I learned that from Jason Bourne. Lol). In german, the word Konzentrationslager is used. It means, (you guessed it!) concentration camp. What was the name of the worst one? Oh yeah, Auschwitz. Though, There are no gas chambers there. Just guards that will kill you if you step outside the walls. Which Katniss did almost every day so that she and her little sister could live. We learn later in the series that not all the districts are like this, though. 11 and 12 are the worst ones. And going to the games is the most dreaded thing ever. Death is better. Especially since 11 and 12 NEVER win the games. 1 and 2 are the most wealthy. In fact, the children there are trained for the games. Their most valiant warriors get to go to the games. Every. Single. Year.

Now the capital. It is just like every country’s capital. Someplace that is significant. The capital in the united states is Washington D.C. In Colorado, Where I live, our capital is Denver. In the books, the new capital is the rocky mountains located in Colorado. Yes, I know that the Rockies span more than just one state. But the most beautiful of the range is located in my backyard! Now I know that this is not the review but bear with me. Please!!  … Now I know that this is probably just a few seconds for you, but I’m 20 minutes into the future and I have lost my train of thought… So, I’m going to move to the next subject.

By looking at the title you already know that this is both a book and series review. However, it was right here that I decided to make it a dual review. Once again. 

Katniss. How did she end up in the games? Well, she volunteered to make sure that her sister, Prim, wouldn’t go and die. So she sacrificed her life for her sister’s life. Quick fact! Katniss is a type of Flower. Primrose is also a type of Flower. The girl who played Prim is named Willow Shields. Willow is a type of tree. Just thought that was Really funny!! That Director/producer sure has a sense of humor!  Volunteering as Tribute NEVER happens. Unless you are in the rich districts. But this shows you how willing she is to die for her sister. Now her sister, she doesn’t make it in the long run. But at least she lasts through two books!

Now I’ll be completely Honest. I have not watched the second, third and fourth movies. They seemed to be extremely DARK. (LOL). <- Cause they in Theaters! Anyone? No? …. Fine. But I am serious. The movies really ruined the books for me. Well, the one movie ruined the series for me. Since I only saw the one.

Peeta. Also known as the boy with the bread. It’s funny cause his name IS a bread!! The Author had a lot of fun coming up with the names for all the characters. Now, I’m not sure if you know this, but the boy with the bread and the girl on fire end up together! Granted, they get separated in book 2 and don’t reunite until book 3. When he’s trying to kill her…. I guess that’s love?!

No. It isn’t love. What happened is that his brain was broken. And he was forced to see everything in a different way. As such, anyone that was his friend is now his sworn enemy. And the one he has to kill to get a clear head? Katniss. Though, I’m sure once he realized he killed katniss he would’ve taken his own life. Or that was the plan anyways.

Now, how did they end up together? Well, that is where book one is important. Now, you can go straight to book 3 and scratch your head cause you have no idea what is going on. I will not stop you. Nor could I even if I wanted to. The Hunger Games is set up to were only one person can survive. Even if you are from the same district, you have to kill them to survive. But katniss and Peeta (enemies at first) never intended on falling in love. That was when the hunger games became like a game to the people running it.

They made up a rule that two people from the same district could survive. As such, Peeta and katniss somehow make it to the final stage. As they wait for their names to be shown across the screens, something happens. The rule is broken. And only one person can survive. But what the guys in charge didn’t expect to happen, katniss and Peeta decide to die together. By eating poisonous berries. Now if you are trying to make the games seems real, you cant let that one happen. So they yell and say never mind!! And that is how the wound up together.

Now, what is a mocking Jay? It is a crossbreed. Its a mix between the Mocking Bird (Which tends to squak back at you), and the Blue Jay. It is implied that Katniss is the mocking Jay. And in the third book, she is seen as the war hero. But her sister? Just another pawn.

During one of their Attacks, the medics are sent out to help the children. Prim is one of the medics. And then a bomb is dropped on all the medics and the children. I guess they were trying to show that they meant business and were ready to kill everyone. Even innocent children.

How does the series end? Katniss and Peeta are healing back in district 12. They are mentally scarred. They question everything. Even if they should be living while everyone else died. And if I remember correctly, they had a kid or two. Now I may be mistaken, but it has been a few years since I read it. 5 years? Cause t was late 2011, early 2012? That seems right.

Now then. What did this book do? Well, it started a new craze. All of a sudden, every book I was reading was like this. The most memorable series was Divergent. Which, I will do a review on next.

This review was supposed to go up on Saturday (1-14-17), but it wasn’t ready to be published. However, now it is! I think I kinda rushed it at the end… But I’m on the train (1-17-17), and want to get this finished before I get to work. I hope you enjoyed!!

Would Recommend?

-Even though I can’t personally read them anymore, Yes. I do recommend. Well, I can read them, but as I stated above, the Movies ruined the books. Maybe I’ll pick them up again in a few months. Who knows?

Thanks for readin!

-Jack

Author: jnutter3006

I'm a full-time student, full-time artist, and i guess I'm a blogger too. I love reading, and have dedicated 19 years to it. (i am 19yo btw). I also enjoy playing video games, collecting pokemon & yugioh cards, studying rocks, enjoying music, and various forms of art.

Leave a Reply

