A Princess of Mars-Review

What happened after the Civil War? Well, only John Carter has the Answer. And it is not of this Planet. I wonder if he ever met Mark Watney…

princ

Title/Author:

A Princess of Mars.  Edgar Rice Burroughs 

Times Read:

-4

Genre:

-Science Fiction, Fantasy, Classic

Rating:

-10/10

Age Range:

-Author(s) Suggest: 12-18

-My Opinion: 13+

I’d estimate around age 13 you start to understand more about the world. Which is why I figure that Mars is a great place to look.  We have always considered that it had life on it. Recently scientists have found ancient pools of water, and even bacteria. Edgar Rice Burroughs was way ahead of his time. I’ll continue this in a few seconds.

Basic Review:

-As I stated above, This book is about Mars. The original publication date was 1911. It was then republished in 1917. The story is over 100 years old, and it is a timeless classic. And it was recently made into a movie: John Carter. John Carter was part of the Civil War, on the side of the Confederates. After the war, he became a Gold Prospector. And that is where the MAGIC happens. In my opinion, this is one of the best books ever written.

Long Review:

-In the basic review I said that John Carter was a part of the civil war. I will give a better in-depth description on Mr. Carter. Edgar Rice Burroughs wrote this book like he knew John Carter. Mr. Carter is described being 6’2″. He has black hair, and is white. He is also described as being immortal. He has no memory of his childhood, and he seems to witness his family disappearing around him. On Mars he is basically a god. I’ll explain in a few.

After the war, Carter becomes a Gold Prospector. While searching he and his buddy are attacked by the natives. They run for their lives (on horses) and Carter ends up stumbling on a mysterious cave. He is soon paralyzed and falls unconscious. When he wakes up he is somewhere he has never been, on a planet called: Barsoom.

Carter is buck Naked and surveys the landscape around him. Unlike any desert he has ever seen, he takes a step forward…. And rockets into the sky.

A little down the line he is seen as a war hero by the savage beasts of Barsoom. Able to kill the beasts with just his fist, he wins their hearts. And then, he sees a beautiful Human woman. Also known as the Princess Of Mars. Although, she is not human. She, like the other creatures of Mars, is an alien. (She also lays an egg, but that isn’t until the end of the book…)

Without spoiling too much, this book series is amazing. Rather than boring you with all the amazing things (I just want you to read it. Amazing book and i will forever love it!!!!!!!!!!!!) I’ll skip to the end. Carter saves the Planet he loves by sacrificing himself. (yeah… He “Dies”.) When his heart stops, he knows he saved his new home.

And then he wakes up. Back in the cave that is on Earth. When he sits up, his clothes crumble into dust around him. Carter survived 10 years in a cave. Somehow…. And he spends the next few years trying to go back. Earth doesn’t have anything for him anymore. His wife believes him dead. And the egg that is his child will never know it’s father. If he gets back to mars, what will happen? Will his wife remember him? Will he be as strong as he was? Will he become a king? Will he ever meet his son?

To find out the answers to these questions, read the next two amazing books (there are 11 total books by the way…): The Gods of Mars.  The Warlord of Mars.

Check out the total list of books here.

Would Recommend?

-10/10 will recommend to absolutely everyone. And then I suggest go see the movie.     Actually, see the movie first. Then read the books. It helps you mind to picture everything much better. Trust me.

This is just my personal opinion of the Book. But I urge you to read it. It is my all time favorite book. I may be Biased, but all of us readers are!

Thanks for readin!

-Jack

Author: jnutter3006

I'm a full-time student, full-time artist, and i guess I'm a blogger too. I love reading, and have dedicated 19 years to it. (i am 19yo btw). I also enjoy playing video games, collecting pokemon & yugioh cards, studying rocks, enjoying music, and various forms of art.

Leave a comment